Only One Orbit

1

It takes our planet 365 days, 5 hours, 48 minutes, and 46 seconds to make its elliptical revolution around the sun. As I near that mark in time we call a year, I am utterly amazed at what has transpired in my life since I last visited the cloudy wet mountains, and rain forests of Juneau, Alaska. When I last departed my wheels were spinning. My mind was numbed, as I sat hunched like an ogre in a windowless office battling a fight I would never win.  My job was working me too hard, and my right hip constantly ached,  Somehow I had the idea, and the opportunity to go to Alaska to run.  It would be the catalyst for much change in my life.

Apparently it only takes a week of absolutely no internet, voicemail, email, bosses and employees to firmly get your attention that something is wrong in your life. Sprinkle in a little physical exhaustion (ok, a lot) to that mix, and you have a solid dose of the perfect medicine.  I was treated to a pace of life that I had long forgotten about.  Our hosts, Geoff and Corle’ (now a married couple) were great friends, and treated each other, and all with such thought-fullness, and kindness throughout the week. As I closed my blog from last summer, I was indeed good tired, and while I needed rest, Alaska awoke in me the sleepy spirit that the florescent cubicle lights had long lulled to stillness.

I came home excited, full of energy. I set out to run another 50 Mile, Bristol Hill Branch trail run (solo/supported). I completed it successfully, in less time than my previous attempt and with far less training and preparation. Yet, my hip still ached and while I spoke of finding new work, I wasn’t having any success. Patty would quickly point out the frequent slipping of my mood at home .

Soon, I decided to start listening. I took nearly 4 full months off of running. I focused on acupuncture, and massage therapy. I learned quickly that I had a lot to learn about the way I move. How past experiences can affect my motion, pose, and form, both while in motion, and at my desk. I began to feel the ache more distinctly, and began the realization that in all my successes and confidence in running, I had become weakened, compromised, and was using my body in odd ways to compensate. Sitting in a chair for hours on end wasn’t helping.

6 months since I had returned from Alaska when I resigned from my position. I left without another job securely in place. I was leaving 14 years of employment behind. It was about this time that I had written to Geoff that I would be unable to come to Alaska this year. I was out of work, and had been sidelined with a bum leg for months.  Investing in a return to Alaska wasn’t in the cards.

It wasn’t more than 15 days after I resigned that my hip stopped aching. It wasn’t 100%, but I knew deep down it was time to start running again and with a renewed focus, and form, I was instantly feeling success again.  I knew that when the camp started in early August that I would be sorely missing out on something I wanted to be part of.   I wrote to Geoff that I would like to come back again, luckily there was a spot left for me.

Which brings me to today, sitting at the airport, waiting to board a plane,  Juneau bound for the second time. I find myself stronger & healthier than I was a year ago. I feel good about me again. And I am also ready to run again.  I am not sure I am in the same ‘shape’ I was in last year, but there’s no reason to worry about that now.

Whatever this trip will bring, I begin with a firm feeling of peace about myself. i feel flexible. I feel lucky. I am ever grateful to my wonderful wife, and two beautiful daughters for sparing me these next 7 days. If there’s one thing that is for certain, this will be my last trip here without them,

…on to Detroit, Seattle, and Juneau, any which way, I feel lucky.

Leave a comment